Alabama Car Insurnace

Looking for cheap car insurance in Alabama? The principal is the same when looking for a car insurance policy. There are many factors that affect your insurance premium, so shopping around for different rates can be much of an asset. 

With millions of drivers on the road each day in Alabama, accidents can happen. So it is definitely a requirement that you have adequate car insurance when you are driving. You are required to have a minimum amount of car insurance have you covered in the case of an accident. Now if you decide not to have car insurance because you’d be exposed to severe penalties such as fines. If that’s the case, and you’re constipated fine you may have regretted the fact that you didn’t often for car insurance.

It isn’t to scare you, it’s just to have you prepared for the worst. Understanding what car insurance you need to drive in the state of Alabama essential before you even get behind the wheel of a vehicle. Here’s a basic guide for you to follow how to understand the legal requirements of car insurance in Alabama. 

Required Coverages

In most states, you are required to have car insurance coverage. The state of Alabama is no exception. Although, the requirement per state could vary so it is always best to do your research beforehand! Here are the minimum requirements for car insurance in Alabama. 


  • $25,000 in bodily injury
  • $50,000 in bodily injury call people on The View
  • $25,000 in liability insurance

If you have options the minimum amount of insurance in the state of Alabama does actually require you to choose uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. The only way to get around this is if you explain to your insurance company why you choose not to select it, that totally leaves it up to the discretion of your insurance company and how will you plead your case. You aren’t required to have comprehensive insurance or collision insurance in the state of Alabama, be mindful of the fact that if you were to get into a bad accident your property is damaged and you may have to pay upfront to fix it.

Our Recommendations

Most of the time it isn’t wise to just offer the minimum State Insurance, you can actually leave you in a far worse situation then you anticipated. So here are some recommendations we suggest you consider when selecting your car insurance premium in Alabama.

Collision Insurance

We strongly recommend that your collision insurance. The reason for this is if you’re in an accident and your vehicle is damaged, chances are it’s going to be expensive to fix. So we highly recommend taking this coverage to ensure that you aren’t paying large sums of money out of your pocket to have your vehicle fixed. 

Don’t Choose the Minimum

We also recommend that you don’t choose the minimum insurance at all. We recommend that you increase the amount of coverage you have for what the state of Alabama requires. The reason for this is you don’t want to be in a situation where your insurance company has capped the amount will be paying out and you left with a large sum of money to cover the rest of the expenses. It’s always better to be safe than sorry, to be quite honest the increase in your premium each month is definitely worth it. 

Not Having Insurance

By law you are required to carry auto insurance at all times while driving your vehicle.

Although in a given circumstance, where you haven’t purchased insurance and you are asked by a law enforcement personnel, there can be repercussions. Here are the penalties that you may encounter if you don’t have auto insurance in Alabama:

The first offence of failing to show proof of insurance is a six month suspension of your license with an addition of/or fines to $1000 along side a reinstatement fee for your license of $200. In the case of this happening, to get your license reinstated, you will have to provide proof of insurance during that time. 

It is worth noting, not saying you will, but if you are caught altering or fabricating your proof of insurance you can get into deep trouble. Fines are anywhere from $500 – $5000 and possibility of jail time of up to 10 years. Yikes.